North America to host World Cup 2026

For the first time, all three North American countries will host a World Cup

Mexico, Canada, and U.S. to host World Cup 2026
Illustration taken from Twitter account @united2026
English 13/06/2018 15:04 Gerardo Velázquez de León Mexico City Actualizada 14:19
Guardando favorito...

It's for North America. For the first time in history, three countries will be hosting a World Cup. At the 68th FIFA Congress in Moscow, the “United 2026” bid won 134 votes against the 65 for Morocco of the FIFA member countries, with only 1 absence and 10 who refrained to vote.

The 23 stadiums proposed in the bid already exist and need a few minor improvements.

The final match will be played in the United States while the opening will take place simultaneously in the three countries, with the Azteca Stadium hosting one match, making Mexico the only country in history to ever host three World Cups.

The Rose Bowl in Pasadena and the Toronto Stadium will be the other stadiums to host the World Cup opening ceremony.

The cities chosen to host World cup matches are:

The United States: Atlanta, Baltimore, New York, Cincinnati, Boston, Dallas, Denver, Houston, Kansas, Los Angeles, Miami, Nashville, Orlando, Philadelphia, San Francisco, Seattle, and Washington.

Canada: Edmonton, Toronto, and Montreal.

Mexico: Mexico City, Monterrey, and Guadalajara.

United 2026 is inspiring a new generation and is set to become a legacy for those who want to organize a 48-country World Cup.

On the other hand, the president of the Mexican Republic, Enrique Peña Nieto, congratulated United 2026.

“We won! North America will host the 2026 World Cup!” Reads his tweet.


Temas Relacionados
EL UNIVERSAL in English Sports
Guardando favorito...