Lupita González wins the 2016 IAAF Race Walking Challenge

The Mexican race walker will receive a US$25,000 first prize.

(Photo: Iván Stephens/EL UNIVERSAL /File)
English 25/08/2016 18:22 Newsroom Actualizada 18:22
Guardando favorito...

Mexico's María Guadalupe González and China’s Wang Zhen won the 2016 IAAF Race Walking Challenge.

González had a total of 34 points and will receive a US$25,000 first prize.

In a statement, the IAAF explained that González had a total of 34 points, adding to her tally from the two IAAF World Athletics Series events with a win on home soil at the IAAF World Race Walking Challenge meeting in Cuidad Juárez in March.

China’s Qieyang Shijie also had 34 points but finished second overall due to the tie-breaker rules after finishing behind González when they were in the same races in Rome and Rio.

Temas Relacionados
Lupita González
Guardando favorito...

Noticias según tus intereses


El Universal

Newsletter Al Despertar

Inicia tu día bien informado con las notas más relevantes

Al registrarme acepto los términos y condiciones