Mexico and Central-America agree to humanitarian transfer of Cuban migrants

Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Panama and Mexico announce a plan to aid the Cubans stranded in Costa Rica.

The agreement was reached in Guatemala today. (Photo: EFE)
English 28/12/2015 23:08 Doris Gómora Actualizada 23:08

A first-stage program for the transfer of the Cuban migrants stranded in Costa Rica will begin operations on the first week of January, per an agreement between Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico and Panama.

The agreement was reached at a meeting between migration authorities in Guatemalan territory, as reported by the Mexican Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Through a statement the agency reported that the meeting was in response to a proposal presented by Mexico on December 22, in order to address the situation of thousands of Cuban migrants in Costa Rica.