18 | OCT | 2019

Women scientists awarded L'Oréal-UNESCO fellowship

Mexico City
-A +A
Five Mexican researchers were awarded the fellowship for their excellence and work in science.

Five Mexican scientists were awarded the 2016 L'Oréal-UNESCO Award for Women in Science Fellowship for their contributions to scientific progress in the country.

The doctors Morelia Camacho Cervantes, Selene Lizbeth Fernández Valverde, Viridiana Jazmín González Puertos, Maritza Arlene Lara López and María Guadalupe Montes de Oca were awarded the fellowship to continue their research project on invasive species such as Harmonia axyridis, non-coding RNA and their contribution to the development of genomics.

The fellowship is awarded by L'Oréal México, in a joint effort with the Mexican Commission for the Cooperation with UNESCO (Conalmex), Mexico's UNESCO office, Mexico's National Science and Technology Council (Conacyt), and the Mexican Academy of Science (AMC).

“Our mission is to demonstrate that Mexico needs science and that science needs women,” said Benito Mirón, Conalmex's Secretary-General, at the awards ceremony.


Mantente al día con el boletín de El Universal