Se encuentra usted aquí

Mexico wins the Gold Cup

'El Tri' defeated Jamaica 3-1.
'Tecatito' was the star of the game. (Photo: Imago7)
-A +A

Andrés Guardado scored 31 minutes into the game, followed by Jesús Corona (47) and Oribe Peralta (61) to give Mexico a victory over Jamaica, with a score of 3-1, and its seventh Gold Cup.

Forward Darren Mattocks scored at 80 for Jamaica, on its first final in the most important tournament among Concacaf nations.

The Jamaicans hardly had 15 minutes of offensive play with two pretty clear goal opportunities in the Lincoln Financial Field, but they were unable to stop the Mexicans.

Mexico also won the tournament in 1993, 1999, 1998, 2003, 2009, and 2011.

Mantente al día con el boletín de El Universal