Eleven states chose a different party in the last elections

After June 7 elections, most of Mexico's states will be ruled by the Institutional Revolutionary Party (PRI).
Daniela Guazo y Saúl Hernández
-A +A

A fragmented opposition and a majority of states under the ruling Institutional Revolutionary Party (PRI) were the main results of the last midterm elections. 

Eleven of the 32 states chose a different party: Baja California, Coahuila, Colima, Guerrero, Nuevo León, Oaxaca, Querétaro, Sonora, Tamaulipas, Tlaxcala and Mexico City. 

In Baja California, Colima, Nuevo León and Querétaro most citizens did not vote for the PRI as they did in 2012 and preferred to give a new chance to the National Action Party (PAN). 

The opposite happened in Coahuila, Sonora and Tamaulipas, where citizens voted for the PRI, that also took away Guerrero, Oaxaca and Tlaxcala from the left. 

Morena beat the Democratic Revolution Party (PRD) as the main political force in Mexico City: it will have almost 40 congressmen in the Legislature that begins on September and will also rule in five delegations, while the PRD only retained power in six of the 14 where it currently rules. The PRI won in three delegations and the PAN in two. 

In contrast, the PRD is undergoing one of its worst crisis: its representation will drop by almost half in the Chamber of Deputies. The PRD not only lost in Mexico City, but also in Guerrero, Oaxaca and Tlaxcala, where it will no longer be the first political force. It kept power in Morelos and Tabasco in alliance with the Labor Party (PT).

Finally, three years ago the PRI won without help in Campeche, Chihuahua, Durango, Hidalgo and Sinaloa. However this time it decided to form an alliance with the Green Party (PVEM) to achieve victory in states such as Chiapas, Jalisco, Michoacán, Puebla, Quintana Roo, San Luis Potosí, Veracruz, Yucatán, Zacatecas and the State of Mexico.



Mantente al día con el boletín de El Universal